top of page

Runner of the Year Guidelines 

Runner of the Year (ROY) is a series of races spread out over the calendar year.
Points are awarded to each CCRC member for each race completed.

CCRC Membership:  You may join the CCRC at any time during the year.  If you join by March 31, you will receive ROY points for any race you did prior to March 31 as well as all future races.  If you join after March 31, you will receive points only for races done after you joined.

Multiple Distances: If there are multiple distances at a particular event (for example, the Healthcare Classic has a 5 K and a 10 K ), ROY points will be awarded whichever race you choose.

Age / Gender Scoring: We will again be using the age / gender scoring system to award points in each race. Runners generally get somewhere between 40 and 70 points for each race.

Age Determination: Your age for the year will be whatever your age is on the last day of the year. This simplifies the points process by not having to change people’s ages throughout the year. 

ROY Spreadsheet: The ROY “leader board” spreadsheet will be updated on the club’s website as soon as possible after each race.

Banquet: At the CCRC’s end of the year banquet, the top ten point leaders will receive a very nice award. Each award winner must satisfy the volunteer requirement (see the next item below) and compete in at least six of the designated ROY races.

Volunteer Requirement: Anyone competing for the ROY awards must choose one of the ROY races at which to volunteer. Contact the Volunteer Coordinator at

Benefit for Juniors: Any junior ( ages 1 – 14 ) who does a minimum of 5 races will receive an award at the annual CCRC banquet.

Starting Line
Runner of the Year

Compete as Runner of the Year

Endurance Athlete

Complete 8 ROY Events

Finish Line
Series Races

2018 Awards Year

Volunteer image

Volunteer in one race in the series to qualify

Endurance Series Athlete

Any CCRC member who competes in 8 or more of the ROY races and serves as a volunteer at one of the races will be considered to be an Endurance Athlete and will receive an award at the end-of-the-year banquet.
The purpose of the series is to increase CCRC member participation in the area races.  The beauty of the Endurance Series is that your race times don’t matter. You are not competing against the “super fast” runners. All you have to do is volunteer at one event and cross the finish line in 8 of the remaining races.
Endurance Series
Series Races

ROY and Endurance Series Races

  1. March; Peter’s Free Wheelin’ 5K; Dalton

  2. March; Grizzly Trail 5K, 10K; Dalton

  3. March; St. Patrick’s Day 2M; Dalton

  4. April; RFG Run at the Mill HM, 5K, 10K; Varnell

  5. May; Healthcare Classic 5K, 10K; Dalton

  6. July; The Funnel Cake 5K; Cohutta

  7. August; Missionary Ridge 4.7M; Chattanooga

  8. October; Dalton Red Carpet HM, 5K; Dalton

  9. November; Forever Family 5K; Tunnel Hill

  10. December; Silver Bell Sprint 5K; Dalton

ROY Leaderboard

ROY Leaderboard
bottom of page